A run saved me … again

Last Sunday I went for a run with my dog, Honey – it was a struggle from beginning to end (both mentally and physically). It wasn’t a long run (6.4 km) but I was feeling a bit down and Honey had serious reservations about the run (finding any opportunity to stop, sniff, scratch, and/or bark at passing dogs – abnormal behaviour – but basically she was just dragging her paws in protest! She wanted to be at the beach playing ball and I think she also knew how reluctant I was to head out as well.

But I did get out there, I kept going and finished the run (really struggled to keep going but I did it). Then, I took Honey to the beach to play ball (see below) – in the end she was shattered 😀 and I, at least, finished my run – strangely not feeling the sense of achievement I normally do, even though MapMyRun gave me a hill run position during the week ha 😀

Run Sunday 19 May

Honey at the Beach

A week later, and it’s been an intensely emotional roller coaster of a week and I’ve let running opportunities go by and experienced terrible depression and anxiety. But today I felt the tide turn and hit out on a run (without Honey) – I timed it to coincide with the peak of the full moon  (just because ;P). It was a great run! I finished a very comfortable 6 km run, kept an easy pace (even with an unplanned kicker of a hill thrown in) and feel like it’s just what I’d been waiting for to keep me moving forward … and I clocked another little achievement boost from MapMyRun – Queen of the Hill I believe (hahahaha but it does actually work it’s competitive magic on me – I want to hit that hill again very soon but I’ll need to be listening to Rage Against the Machine again to get me up there!!!).

Saturday run 25 May 2013

So … at the end of a tough week, a run saved me – again!

Now I just need to put together and/or find a proper training plan and stick to it.

Any ideas on fantastic half marathon training plans than include cross training and speed work days are very welcome 😀

Leave a comment